Honda CRF450R
2027 Honda CRF450R: all-new 450 motocrosser, 108 kg, +10% power. Specs, press reviews, and the licence and tracks you need to ride it in France.
At a glance
The Honda CRF450R is Honda's competition motocross bike, a 450 single that is not road-legal. For 2027 Honda has rebuilt almost all of it: a 449.5 cc engine claimed to make 10.3% more power, a 70% new main frame and 108 kg ready to ride, 4 kg less than before. It is aimed at licensed riders on approved tracks; Honda France has not yet published its 2027 price.
World press review
Meta-score
3 sources
Press ratings
More linear, smoother and much quieter engine, better-spaced gearbox, effective suspension and greater stability; slightly less light turn-in, harsh grips, slippery seat cover and no smartphone app. Clearly better than the 2026.
Lighter, more powerful and easier to ride, tracking 'as if on rails' with a well-judged gearbox; firm stock suspension and a slightly stiff clutch. A complete success for racers and hobby riders alike.
First impressions on video: the new 450 seems to be off to a good start despite the many changes made to its engine.
Press synthesis
What the world’s press says
The production 2027 CRF450R reached testers in summer 2026. Cycle News had first ridden a pre-production bike in the spring in Japan, at the Kumamoto factory site, before testing the production bike at Spring Creek (USA) in early August. In Europe, 1000PS and Moto Verte rode it at the launch on the Arco di Trento GP track in Italy. None of these outlets gives it a numerical score.
Where they agree
- An easier engine: Cycle News describes more linear power, less vibration and a much quieter bike; 1000PS praises an engine that is very usable in every gear.
- Better-spaced gearbox: both tests stress that you shift less often, with second gear covering much of the track.
- More stability: both find the 2027 much more stable than the 2026, at the cost of slightly less eager turn-in.
- The BTL clutch: less engine braking into corners and less pitching according to Cycle News; 1000PS also likes the reduced engine braking, although soft ground made it hard to fully judge the slipper effect.
Where they differ
The suspension splits opinion slightly: Cycle News found it plush and effective straight out of the crate, while 1000PS judged it rather firm, which it likes for racing. 1000PS also criticises a slightly stiff clutch pull, whereas Cycle News found the pull stayed light during its wet ride on the pre-production bike in Japan. Finally, Cycle News regrets harsh grips, a slippery seat cover, the lack of a smartphone app and a Smooth map that is too soft for Spring Creek’s deep ground.
The verdict
For Cycle News, the 2027 is “absolutely” better than the 2026 because you go faster with less effort. 1000PS calls it a thoroughly successful overhaul for racers and hobby riders alike, despite the clutch. From its first impressions, Moto Verte feels the new 450 has got off to a good start despite the scale of the changes.
Key quotes
"It’s fast, but it’s not arm-ripping fast like, say, early CRF450Rs—it’s sneaky fast, not in-your-face fast."
"The CRF450R has always been known for its precise cornering behavior, but the ’27 doesn’t steer or feel as light in the corners as the ’26, even though it lost 10 pounds of dead weight."
"What stands out the most to me is that you can ride it faster with less effort than before."
"The balance is right: the CRF no longer tips into tight corners quite as playfully as before, but in return it has become significantly more stable, and the well-known Honda nervousness is gone – you still get into every tight line without much effort."
"Despite a somewhat stiff clutch, it's a fully successful all-rounder for racers and hobby riders alike."
Pros
- All-new engine, claimed 10.3% more powerful, more linear and with less vibration
- 108 kg ready to ride, 4 kg less than the 2026
- Taller gear ratios mean fewer gear changes
- Clearly improved stability, tracking “as if on rails” according to 1000PS
- BTL back-torque-limiter clutch: less engine braking on corner entry
- Complete electronics: 3 maps, HSTC torque control, launch control
- Easier maintenance (air filter reached through the side panel, shock removable without taking out the ECU)
Cons
- Honda France has not yet published the 2027 price
- Turn-in slightly less light than the 2026 (Cycle News, 1000PS)
- Slightly stiff clutch pull according to 1000PS
- No smartphone app, harsh grips and slippery seat cover (Cycle News)
- No power figure in Honda’s spec sheets
Our review
The CRF450R is the competition motocross bike Honda has sold to the public since 2002, developed alongside its HRC factory team. For 2027 Honda calls it the most comprehensive overhaul in more than a decade: a new engine, a heavily redesigned frame, revised suspension and 4 kg less weight. Bear in mind this is a race bike: it is not road-legal and is ridden on approved tracks with a federation licence or pass.
What’s new on the 2027 CRF450R?
The engine is all-new. The 449.5 cc single keeps a Unicam (single overhead camshaft) valvetrain, but the bore grows to 97 mm (+1 mm) and the stroke shrinks to 60.83 mm. Compression rises to 13.75:1 and the titanium valves get bigger (40 mm intake, 32 mm exhaust). Honda claims 10.3% more power and 3.7% more torque, from an engine that is 2.7 kg lighter and 17 mm narrower.
Honda does not publish a power figure in its CRF450R spec sheets. US magazine Cycle News only reports that Honda says the bike makes “more than 60 horsepower”.
The smaller clutch, 400 g lighter, debuts what Honda calls a world first: a rubber-damper back-torque limiter (BTL). In plain terms, it lets the clutch slip slightly when engine braking gets too strong, like a slipper clutch, keeping the rear wheel calmer on corner entry. The gear ratios are taller and the rear sprocket now has 51 teeth. The longer exhaust meets the AMA/FIM 111 dB sound limit.
How does it ride?
The first tests describe a smoother, more linear engine. Cycle News found less vibration, a much quieter bike and power that builds without a hit: “sneaky fast”, not in-your-face. Thanks to the taller ratios, the tester could have ridden the whole Spring Creek track in second gear. 1000PS reached the same conclusion about the gearbox and noticed a slight loss of torque right at the bottom of the rev range, without the engine becoming any less easy to use.
On the chassis side, the wheelbase grows to 1,490 mm and the rake (fork angle) to 27.5°. The result, according to both tests: the bike is clearly more stable, but turns into tight corners a little less readily than the 2026. 1000PS welcomes the end of the old “Honda nervousness” and a bike that tracks “as if on rails”.
The Showa suspension follows a new philosophy: Honda deliberately adds some friction at the start of the stroke for more consistent damping. The 49 mm fork gets a new DBS piston and race-grade Kashima coating. Cycle News found it plush and effective, 1000PS rather firm out of the crate, which suits racing in its view.
How much does it weigh and what electronics does it have?
Honda quotes 108 kg ready to ride (full tank) and 102.7 kg without fuel, against 112 kg and 107.2 kg for the 2026. The titanium fuel tank now holds 7.1 litres.
The electronics stay simple, with handlebar buttons and no display:
- three engine maps: Standard, Smooth and Aggressive;
- three-level HSTC torque control, which limits rear-wheel spin by adjusting ignition and fuel injection;
- three-mode HRC Launch Control, which holds a suitable rpm while you wait for the gate to drop.
There is no smartphone app, something Cycle News regrets since most rivals offer one.
Where and how can you ride a CRF450R?
Honda’s owner’s manual is explicit: the CRF450R is designed for competition only, riding it on public roads is illegal and it cannot carry a passenger. In France that means approved tracks: according to the official service-public.fr site, the owner or operator of a circuit who wants to run motorised activities there applies to the local prefecture for approval (form Cerfa 15849*01). The French motorcycling federation (FFM) claims 1,215 clubs and 1,000 approved sites.
At FFM-affiliated venues you need a federation document, checked at the gate:
- the National Training licence (NET), from age 12, €225 in 2026;
- the National Competition licence (NCO), from age 15, €330;
- a single-event licence or the Pass Circuit for an occasional day.
An FFM licence includes third-party liability and personal accident insurance; the FFM points out that liability cover is a legal requirement. A competition licence requires a medical certificate less than a year old and, depending on your age, a ‘guidon’ (a riding level validated by a coach) or the CASM, a theory and practical test that is compulsory from age 12 for a first annual competition licence.
What does it cost and which versions are sold in France?
Honda France lists the 2027 CRF450R and the 2027 CRF450R HRC Works Edition on its website but does not show their prices yet. The 2025 CRF450R, still in the catalogue, is listed at €10,399 (€12,999 for the 2025 CRF450RWE). For reference, Honda Germany lists the 2027 at €10,270 and American Honda at $10,099. Honda France relies on its “Cadre Rouge” network of 39 specialist dealers (mainland France and Réunion), which offer special pricing to FFM and UFOLEP licence holders.
The limited-run Works Edition adds a titanium Yoshimura exhaust, a Twin Air filter, hand-finished cylinder-head ports and dedicated engine and suspension settings. The CRF450RX, the enduro version with an 18-inch rear wheel, is shown on the same page but does not appear in Honda France’s specifications and prices.
Who is it for?
Licensed motocross riders, from ambitious racers to experienced weekend riders: 1000PS says you feel at ease on it straight away, whatever your profile. It is not a bike to discover off-road riding on: the FFM considers it essential to take your first laps with a qualified coach, on a bike suited to your level.
The bottom line
Lighter, more powerful, more stable and easier to maintain, the 2027 CRF450R is a genuine new generation. What is still missing is a French price and independent power measurements. If you already race or ride motocross with a licence, it is well worth a test ride at a Cadre Rouge dealer.
Specifications
| Displacement | 450 cc |
|---|---|
| Power | Not disclosed in Honda's spec sheets — 'more than 60 horsepower' according to Honda, as reported by Cycle News; +10.3% over the 2026 model (Honda) |
| Torque | Not disclosed by Honda — +3.7% over the 2026 model (Honda) |
| Weight | 108 kg (ready to ride, full tank) — 102.7 kg without fuel |
| Seat height | 953 mm |
| Fuel capacity | 7.1 L |
| Maintenance interval | 2027 manual not yet published online. Honda 2025 manual (previous generation): oil checked every race (~2.5 h), oil and filter changed every 6 races (~15 h) — Valves: check every 6 races — Piston and rings: replace every 6 races |
| Engine type | 449.5 cc single-cylinder 4-stroke, SOHC Unicam, 4 titanium valves, liquid-cooled |
| Cooling | liquide |
| Transmission | 5-speed, 520 chain (13/51), hydraulic clutch with BTL back-torque limiter |
Engine detail
| Bore x stroke | 97,0 x 60,83 mm |
|---|---|
| Compression ratio | 13,75:1 |
| Fuel system | PGM-FI electronic fuel injection, 46 mm throttle body |
| Valve train | SOHC Unicam, 4 titanium valves (40 mm intake, 32 mm exhaust) |
| Starter | Electric |
Chassis & running gear
| Frame type | Aluminium twin-spar frame with split single cradle (70% new main frame) |
|---|---|
| Rake angle | 27.5 ° |
| Trail | 116.7 mm |
| Wheelbase | 1490 mm |
| Ground clearance | 333 mm |
| Front suspension | 49 mm Showa inverted fork with DBS piston and Kashima coating, adjustable compression and rebound, 310 mm travel (12.2 in according to American Honda) |
| Rear suspension | 50 mm Showa shock, Pro-Link system, adjustable preload, compression and rebound, 305 mm travel (12.0 in according to American Honda) |
| Front brake | Single 260 mm petal disc, twin-piston caliper |
| Rear brake | Single 240 mm petal disc, single-piston caliper |
| Front tire | 80/100-21 51M Dunlop Geomax MX34F |
| Rear tire | 120/90-19 66M Dunlop Geomax MX34 |
| ABS system | No ABS |
Electronics & rider aids
| Riding modes | Standard, Smooth, Aggressive |
|---|---|
| Traction control | Yes |
| Quickshifter | No |
| Cruise control | No |
| Dashboard | No dashboard: LED indicators on the left switchgear |
| Connectivity | None (no smartphone app) |
| Other features | Three-level HSTC torque control, can be switched off, no wheel-speed sensor, Three-mode HRC Launch Control, can be switched off, Gear-specific ignition maps (gear position sensor), BTL back-torque-limiter clutch with rubber damper (slipper effect), 2.3 Ah battery |
Ergonomics & rider fit
| Riding position | Motocross: flat seat at 953 mm, Renthal Fatbar handlebar with 4 positions, footpegs moved 5 mm rearward |
|---|---|
| Wind protection | None (motocross bike, no fairing or screen) |
The 2027 CRF450R keeps a typical motocross riding position, designed for riding standing up as well as seated. Honda has lowered the seat to 953 mm (957 mm on the 2026) and given it a flatter profile with a smaller radius at the rear. With 333 mm of ground clearance it is a tall bike, like its rival the Yamaha YZ450F (965 mm seat height).
The radiator shrouds and the now symmetrical side panels have been reshaped so your knees can slide flat from front to back. According to American Honda, the bike is 2 mm wider at the shrouds and 7 mm wider at the seating area, making it easier to grip with your legs. The footpegs move 5 mm rearward, and the Renthal Fatbar handlebar offers four positions to suit your size: two clamp locations 26 mm apart, plus another 10 mm by turning the clamps around.
Cycle News, whose tester is tall, liked the roomier cockpit and the more comfortable seat but found the grips harsh and the seat cover short on grip. There is no wind protection at all, and the bike is strictly a single-seater: Honda’s manual rules out any passenger.
Ownership & maintenance
| Chain | 520 chain checked and lubricated every race (~2.5 h), replaced every 3 races (~7.5 h) according to Honda's 2025 manual |
|---|
Average service cost
Not disclosed
Like any race bike, the CRF450R is maintained by races and engine hours, not mileage. Honda has not yet published the 2027 owner’s manual online. As a guide, the 2025 CRF450R manual (previous generation, different engine) specifies, for average use:
- engine oil checked every race (about 2.5 h), then changed with its filter every 6 races (about 15 h);
- valve clearance checked, and piston, rings and gudgeon pin replaced, every 6 races;
- air filter cleaned every race, or after every heat in dusty conditions;
- chain checked and lubricated every race, replaced every 3 races (about 7.5 h);
- fork oil changed every 9 races (about 22.5 h);
- brake, clutch and coolant fluids replaced every 2 years.
Honda notes that severe use calls for shorter intervals, so ask your dealer to confirm the 2027 schedule. The good news is that several jobs are easier: the air filter is reached through the side panel, the shock can be removed without taking out the ECU and the rear disc comes off with a single spanner. No service costs are published, and Honda’s manual states the bike is sold “as is” with no manufacturer warranty. In the United States, 2025 and 2026 CRF450Rs were recalled (CPSC) over a handlebar clamp; we found no recall affecting the 2027.
Direct competitors
| Model | MSRP | Power | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Honda CRF450R | — | Not disclosed in Honda's spec sheets — 'more than 60 horsepower' according to Honda, as reported by Cycle News; +10.3% over the 2026 model (Honda) | 108 kg (ready to ride, full tank) — 102.7 kg without fuel |
| Yamaha YZ450F2027 | €10,499 | Not disclosed | 110 kg (wet) |
| Kawasaki KX450F2027 | €10,889 | Not disclosed | 113 kg (wet, 2026 model; 2027 not disclosed) |
| KTM 450 SX-F2027 | €11,649 | Not disclosed | 103.1 kg (without fuel) |
| Husqvarna FC 4502027 | €11,849 | Not disclosed | 103.3 kg (without fuel) |
| GasGas MC 450F2027 | €10,989 | Not disclosed | 103.6 kg (without fuel) |
Generations
- CRF450R (2002-2008, carburateur)2002 – 2008
449 cc · — · — · 102 kg (dry)
Honda's first major four-stroke motocrosser: a Unicam single with a Keihin carburettor and an aluminium frame, which was replaced by a new-generation frame in 2005 (dry weight from the 2004 manual).
- CRF450R (2009-2012, injection)2009 – 2012
449 cc · — · — · 107 kg (road-ready)
All-new engine with PGM-FI fuel injection (56.3 bhp claimed by American Honda) and a new rolling chassis with the HPSD steering damper.
- CRF450R (2013-2016)2013 – 2016
449 cc · — · — · 110 kg (road-ready)
New aluminium frame and swingarm, KYB PSF air fork and twin silencers around the fuel-injected engine (American Honda weight for the 2014 model).
- CRF450R (2017-2020)2017 – 2020
450 cc · — · — · 110 kg (road-ready)
Complete redesign with a more powerful engine and new chassis, then standard electric start in 2018, an HRC cylinder head and launch control in 2019 and HSTC torque control in 2020.
- CRF450R (2021-2026)2021 – 2026
450 cc · — · — · 111 kg (road-ready)
An almost completely new bike derived from the 2019 MXGP title-winning CRF450RW, with a single silencer; engine and chassis updates in 2023, then a 70% new frame and new Showa suspension in 2025.
- CRF450R (2027)2027 – today
450 cc · — · — · 108 kg (road-ready)
New 449.5 cc engine that is more powerful (+10.3% according to Honda), lighter and narrower, BTL back-torque-limiter clutch, 70% new main frame and 4 kg less weight.
| Generation | Displacement | Power | Torque | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CRF450R (2002-2008, carburateur)2002 – 2008 Honda's first major four-stroke motocrosser: a Unicam single with a Keihin carburettor and an aluminium frame, which was replaced by a new-generation frame in 2005 (dry weight from the 2004 manual). | 449 cc | — | — | 102 kg dry |
| CRF450R (2009-2012, injection)2009 – 2012 All-new engine with PGM-FI fuel injection (56.3 bhp claimed by American Honda) and a new rolling chassis with the HPSD steering damper. | 449 cc | — | — | 107 kg road-ready |
| CRF450R (2013-2016)2013 – 2016 New aluminium frame and swingarm, KYB PSF air fork and twin silencers around the fuel-injected engine (American Honda weight for the 2014 model). | 449 cc | — | — | 110 kg road-ready |
| CRF450R (2017-2020)2017 – 2020 Complete redesign with a more powerful engine and new chassis, then standard electric start in 2018, an HRC cylinder head and launch control in 2019 and HSTC torque control in 2020. | 450 cc | — | — | 110 kg road-ready |
| CRF450R (2021-2026)2021 – 2026 An almost completely new bike derived from the 2019 MXGP title-winning CRF450RW, with a single silencer; engine and chassis updates in 2023, then a 70% new frame and new Showa suspension in 2025. | 450 cc | — | — | 111 kg road-ready |
| CRF450R (2027)2027 – today New 449.5 cc engine that is more powerful (+10.3% according to Honda), lighter and narrower, BTL back-torque-limiter clutch, 70% new main frame and 4 kg less weight. | 450 cc | — | — | 108 kg road-ready |
Manufacturer figures (otherwise specialist press). Weighing conditions differ between generations: compare weights with care.
Available colors
Manufacturer recalls
No known recalls for this model.
