Honda Rebel 1100
2026 Honda Rebel 1100 DCT: 88 hp cruiser, 1,084 cc twin, 236 kg, 710 mm seat, €12,099. Full specs, press reviews and rivals.
At a glance
The Honda Rebel 1100 (CMX1100 Rebel) is a big bobber-style cruiser powered by an Africa Twin-derived 1,084 cc, 88 hp twin; in France, Honda only sells it with the DCT dual-clutch transmission (236 kg), the manual version being reserved for other markets. Priced at €12,099, it takes on the Harley-Davidson Nightster and the Indian Scout Sixty Bobber, with cruise control and a connected TFT dash as standard. Reviewers, who tested it at its 2021 launch, praise its torquey engine, agility and DCT gearbox, but criticise a seat that gets uncomfortable on long rides, firm rear shocks and slightly abrupt throttle response.
World press review
Meta-score
7 sources
Press ratings
Test of the 2021 DCT: a cruiser accessible to beginners yet quick enough for experienced riders, with chassis and brakes above its class; snatchy throttle in Sport mode, front brake needing effort, seat tiring after about 160 km.
Test of the 2021 DCT: one of the best-handling cruisers, DCT enjoyable in manual mode, well-judged front brake; uncomfortable position after 90 minutes of motorway and a small pillion seat.
Test of the 2021 manual version: a fun, easy, agile and torquey cruiser, well equipped for its price; slightly abrupt throttle response, no V-twin rumble, short suspension travel.
Test of the 2021 DCT: torquey, willing engine, compact and reassuring bike, DCT gearbox suits it perfectly; unattractive headlight, fiddly cruise control, divisive styling.
Test of the 2021 manual version: easy, well balanced, light and reassuring, with a really punchy engine and an attractive price; limited comfort.
Press synthesis
What the world’s press says
No review of the 2025 to 2027 model years has been published: all seven reviews cover the 2021 Rebel 1100 (64 kW, round LCD display, 700 mm seat), whose frame, suspension and brakes have not changed. MCN, which updated its review in June 2026, rates it 4/5 and calls it “absolutely worth buying in 2026”; Motorcycle.com gives it 87.25/100. The meta-score of 84/100 is the average of these two scores and therefore applies to the 2021 model. RevZilla, Visordown, 1000PS, BikeSocial and Le Repaire des Motards tested it without a numeric score; 1000PS and Le Repaire des Motards rode the manual version, not sold in France.
What reviewers like: a torquey, lively engine, unusual agility for a cruiser (Visordown ranks it among the best-handling cruisers), a very well-suited DCT gearbox, an easy and reassuring bike, comprehensive equipment and a sensible price.
What they criticise: a seat that gets tiring on long rides (MCN, RevZilla), an uncomfortable position on the motorway (Visordown), firm rear shocks with little travel, slightly abrupt throttle response, a front brake Motorcycle.com found spongy and a headlight whose style BikeSocial questions. MCN also disliked an LCD screen hard to read in sunlight: it was replaced by a TFT in 2025, when the seat and riding position were also revised.
Key quotes
"As nonchalantly non-plussed by bimbling along a seafront basking in its bassy tones and admiring glances, as it is capable of blitzing a mountain road."
"There’ve been a lot of unmemorable cruisers to try to remember over the decades, but I’m pretty sure the Rebel 1100 is the most fun I’ve had riding one, by a pretty fair margin."
"In the end, Honda has taken a model that’s historically been aimed at beginners and given it enough performance to satisfy veteran riders."
"It proves that a cruiser doesn’t have to be harsh, prone to understeer, and all at sea in the bends."
"The Honda Rebel 1100 is a very fun, easy-to-ride, agile and punchy cruiser that will probably make plenty of friends, whether rookie or old hand."
"Easy, well balanced, light, reassuring, modern and well finished: the Rebel 1100 racks up the compliments, in the tradition of Honda machines."
Pros
- Torquey, lively engine
- Surprisingly agile for a cruiser
- Well-suited DCT gearbox
- Low 710 mm seat
- Standard cruise control and connected TFT dash
- Sensible price for an 1,100 cc cruiser
Cons
- Seat uncomfortable on long rides (2021 model)
- Firm rear shocks with little travel
- Slightly abrupt throttle response
- 236 kg with DCT, no manual gearbox in France
- Range of about 255 km
Our review
Which Rebel 1100 in France?
Honda France only sells the Rebel 1100 with the DCT dual-clutch transmission: this page therefore covers the CMX1100 Rebel DCT, which weighs 236 kg kerb and uses 5.3 L/100 km in the WMTC cycle. The manual-gearbox version, lighter (226 kg) and more frugal (4.9 L/100 km), is sold in the UK, Germany, Spain, the Netherlands and the United States, but not in France. According to Honda, 57% of Rebel 1100 owners have chosen the DCT since its launch.
The French range includes two other versions, also DCT-only: the Rebel Touring (CMX1100T), with a half-fairing, short screen and 35-litre hard cases, and the Rebel SE, with a body-coloured headlight cowl, fork gaiters and bar-end mirrors.
What is the 2026 model year?
The Rebel 1100 arrived in 2021, the Touring version in 2023. The last major update dates from 2025: compression raised from 10.1:1 to 10.5:1, power up from 64 to 65 kW, DCT logic revised for manoeuvres below 10 km/h, handlebar moved 28 mm back and 12 mm up, footpegs moved 50 mm forward, thicker seat (710 mm instead of 700) and a connected 5-inch TFT screen replacing the round LCD display. The 2026 and 2027 model years only change the colours; the 2027 adds an Iridium Gray Metallic to the Matte Black.
How much does it cost?
Honda France lists the 2026 Rebel DCT at €12,099, the Rebel Touring DCT at €12,949 and the Rebel SE at €13,249. Prices for the 2027 model year have not yet been announced. In the United States, the 2026 Rebel 1100 costs $9,699 with the manual gearbox, $10,399 with DCT and $11,199 as the DCT SE.
How good is the engine?
The 1,084 cc 270-degree parallel twin comes from the Africa Twin, with a camshaft and heavier flywheel specific to the Rebel. It makes 88 hp (65 kW) at 7,250 rpm and 98 Nm at 4,750 rpm; Honda quotes a top speed of 160 km/h. The French press kit for the 2027 model year still gives a 10.1:1 compression ratio and peak power at 7,000 rpm, the figures of the 2021-2024 version: Honda Europe’s spec sheet and Honda France’s website give 10.5:1 and 7,250 rpm, the figures used here.
Reviewers praise a torquey, lively engine. 1000PS finds the throttle response a little abrupt and misses the rumble of a V-twin; RevZilla finds the response snatchy in Sport mode.
How does the DCT gearbox work?
The DCT shifts through the six gears on its own, following a shift pattern linked to the riding mode, or on demand via paddles on the left switchgear. Motorcycle.com finds it very convincing, Visordown enjoys its manual mode and BikeSocial finds it perfectly suited to the bike; Motorcycle.com does find first gear very abrupt.
How does it ride?
The steel double-cradle frame, 43 mm cartridge fork and twin piggyback shocks are adjustable for preload only. Front braking relies on a 330 mm floating disc gripped by a four-piston radial monobloc caliper. With 120 mm of ground clearance, the bike can lean 34.4° each side. The press is unanimous about its agility: Motorcycle.com describes it as a cruiser that thinks it is a sportbike. MCN finds the rear shocks firm and short on travel.
What equipment does it have?
Equipment is comprehensive for a cruiser: Standard, Sport and Rain riding modes plus two customisable modes, three-level HSTC torque control with wheelie control, standard cruise control, a 5-inch TFT screen with Honda RoadSync connectivity, full LED lighting and a USB-C socket. There is no cornering ABS.
Fuel consumption and maintenance
Honda quotes 5.3 L/100 km for the DCT, giving a range of about 255 km from the 13.6-litre tank. On the 2021 DCT, Motorcycle.com recorded about 5.7 L/100 km and BikeSocial 7.1 L/100 km when ridden hard. The manual calls for an oil change every 12,000 km or every year and a valve clearance check every 24,000 km. The warranty is 2 years with unlimited mileage, extendable up to 6 years.
Recalls
No recall affects the 2026 and 2027 model years or the 2025 DCT. The 2025 manual-gearbox Rebel 1100 and 1100T were recalled for a faulty crankcase sealing bolt (Safety Gate SR/02236/25, NHTSA 25V-358). The 2021 to 2024 models were recalled for an engine management fault at high altitude (OR/00149/25), and some 2021 Rebels for cooling system sealing.
Specifications
| Displacement | 1084 cc |
|---|---|
| Power | 88 hp (65 kW) @ 7,250 rpm |
| Torque | 98 Nm @ 4,750 rpm |
| Weight | 236 kg (kerb, DCT version sold in France; 226 kg for the manual version sold elsewhere) |
| Power-to-weight ratio | 2.68 |
| Seat height | 710 mm |
| Fuel capacity | 13.6 L |
| Fuel consumption | 5.3 L/100 km (WMTC cycle, DCT) — 123 g/km CO2; 4.9 L/100 km for the manual gearbox |
| Maintenance interval | Oil change every 12,000 km or 1 year — Valves: 24,000 km (Honda 2025 owner's manual) |
| Engine type | 270-degree parallel twin, 4-stroke, SOHC Unicam, 8 valves, liquid-cooled |
| Cooling | liquide |
| Transmission | 6-speed DCT dual-clutch, chain drive |
| License | A |
| MSRP | €12,099 |
Engine detail
| Bore x stroke | 92 x 81,5 mm |
|---|---|
| Compression ratio | 10,5:1 |
| Fuel system | PGM-FI electronic fuel injection, Throttle By Wire |
| Valve train | SOHC Unicam, 4 valves per cylinder |
| Max power RPM | 7250 units.rpm |
| Max torque RPM | 4750 units.rpm |
| Starter | Electric |
| Euro standard | Euro 5 |
Chassis & running gear
| Frame type | Tubular steel double cradle (35 mm main tubes) |
|---|---|
| Rake angle | 28 ° |
| Trail | 110 mm |
| Wheelbase | 1520 mm |
| Ground clearance | 120 mm |
| Front suspension | 43 mm cartridge fork, preload-adjustable |
| Rear suspension | Twin piggyback shocks, preload-adjustable |
| Front brake | Single 330 mm floating disc, four-piston radial monobloc caliper |
| Rear brake | Single 256 mm disc, single-piston caliper |
| Front tire | 130/70B18 |
| Rear tire | 180/65B16 |
| ABS system | Dual-channel ABS |
Performance
| Top speed | 160 km/h |
|---|
Electronics & rider aids
| Riding modes | Standard, Sport, Rain, User 1, User 2 |
|---|---|
| Traction control | Yes |
| Anti-wheelie | Yes |
| Quickshifter | No |
| Cruise control | Yes |
| Dashboard | 5-inch colour TFT (Bar, Circle and Simple layouts) |
| Connectivity | Honda RoadSync (turn-by-turn navigation, calls, music via Bluetooth intercom) |
| Other features | DCT dual-clutch transmission (automatic modes and manual paddle-shift mode), HSTC torque control, 3 levels + OFF, with integrated wheelie control, Power and engine braking adjustable in the User modes, Full LED lighting, USB-C socket, HISS immobiliser |
Ergonomics & rider fit
| Riding position | Cruiser: low seat, swept-back bars, forward footpegs |
|---|---|
| Passenger comfort | Small removable pillion pad |
| Wind protection | None (no screen on the standard version) |
| Payload | 174 kg |
| Max total weight | 410 kg |
The Rebel 1100 offers a cruiser riding position with a low 710 mm seat. In 2025, Honda moved the handlebar 28 mm back and 12 mm up, moved the footpegs 50 mm forward and made the seat 10 mm thicker. On the 2021 model, MCN and RevZilla found the seat tiring after 80 to 160 km, Visordown the position uncomfortable after 90 minutes of motorway, and Le Repaire des Motards named comfort as its main drawback; these opinions predate the 2025 changes. The passenger gets a small removable pad, which Visordown finds small, and the standard version offers no wind protection. Maximum load is 174 kg, including rider, passenger and luggage.
Ownership & maintenance
5.7 to 7.1 L/100 km (foreign press readings on the 2021 Rebel 1100 DCT: Motorcycle.com, BikeSocial ridden hard)
L/100km
Real-world consumption
~~255 km (calculated from the WMTC figure: 13.6 L tank / 5.3 L/100 km)
km
Estimated range
| Oil change | every 12,000 km or every 12 months |
|---|---|
| Valve check | every 24,000 km |
| Spark plugs | every 48,000 km |
| Chain | Check and lubricate every 1,000 km (RK 525 O-ring chain) |
Warranty
2 years / Unlimited mileage; extendable year by year up to 6 years with servicing in the Honda network
Honda’s 2025 owner’s manual specifies a first oil and filter change at 1,000 km, then an oil change every 12,000 km or every year. The oil filter, the DCT clutch oil filter and the air filter are replaced every 24,000 km, when the valve clearance is also checked; spark plugs are replaced at 48,000 km. Coolant is changed every 3 years, brake fluid every 2 years, and the chain is checked and lubricated every 1,000 km. No official service cost is published. Honda’s warranty is 2 years with unlimited mileage, extendable year by year up to 6 years with servicing in the dealer network.
Direct competitors
| Model | MSRP | Power | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Honda Rebel 1100 | €12,099 | 88 hp (65 kW) @ 7,250 rpm | 236 kg (kerb, DCT version sold in France; 226 kg for the manual version sold elsewhere) |
| Harley-Davidson Nightster2026 | €11,390 | 89 hp | 220 kg (kerb) |
| Indian Scout Sixty Bobber2026 | €12,890 | 85 hp | 243 kg (weighing condition not stated) |
| Indian Scout Bobber2026 | €15,390 | 94 hp | 246 kg (weighing condition not stated) |
| Harley-Davidson Sportster S2026 | €16,350 | 121 hp | 228 kg (kerb) |
| Triumph Bonneville Bobber2026 | €16,695 | 78 hp | 250 kg (wet) |
Generations
- CMX1100 Rebel (2021-2024)2021 – 2024
1,084 cc · 87 hp · 98 Nm · 233 kg (road-ready)
Launch of the big Rebel cruiser with the Africa Twin-derived 1,084 cc twin (heavier flywheel), throttle-by-wire, riding modes, cruise control and optional DCT (233 kg with DCT, 223 kg manual); Touring version in 2023.
- CMX1100 Rebel (depuis 2025)2025 – today
1,084 cc · 88 hp · 98 Nm · 236 kg (road-ready)
Higher compression (65 kW), refined low-speed DCT, more relaxed riding position, thicker seat (710 mm), connected 5-inch TFT dash and SE version; the 2026 and 2027 model years only change the colours.
| Generation | Displacement | Power | Torque | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMX1100 Rebel (2021-2024)2021 – 2024 Launch of the big Rebel cruiser with the Africa Twin-derived 1,084 cc twin (heavier flywheel), throttle-by-wire, riding modes, cruise control and optional DCT (233 kg with DCT, 223 kg manual); Touring version in 2023. | 1,084 cc | 87 hp | 98 Nm | 233 kg road-ready |
| CMX1100 Rebel (depuis 2025)2025 – today Higher compression (65 kW), refined low-speed DCT, more relaxed riding position, thicker seat (710 mm), connected 5-inch TFT dash and SE version; the 2026 and 2027 model years only change the colours. | 1,084 cc | 88 hp | 98 Nm | 236 kg road-ready |
Manufacturer figures (otherwise specialist press). Weighing conditions differ between generations: compare weights with care.
Available colors
Manufacturer recalls
Possibly defective crankcase sealing bolt: oil may spray onto the rear tyre. In Europe, recall of manual-gearbox Rebel 1100 and Rebel 1100T (CMX1100A and A2) built from 25 Oct 2024 to 27 Mar 2025 (2025 model year); in the United States, recall of 2025 Rebel 1100s (May 2025, bolt replaced)
Voir le rappel →At high altitude with the throttle closed, the ECU may fail to update atmospheric pressure: incorrect fuelling, false fault detection and shutdown of one cylinder, which can stall the engine. Affected: Rebel 1100 and Rebel 1100T, manual and DCT, 2021 to 2024 model years
Insufficient sealing at the cooling system filler neck: hot coolant may escape from the overflow tube. Affected: 2021 manual Rebel 1100 (CMX1100AM, built 15 Apr to 24 Aug 2021) and DCT (CMX1100DM, built 20 May to 20 Aug 2021); 2021 recall published on RappelConso in August 2023
Radiator cap possibly improperly formed, which may leak or spray hot coolant. Affected: 2021 Rebel 1100s sold in the United States (1,022 bikes); cap replaced
Voir le rappel →